BAFT News and Press Releases

Please direct all media inquiries to , Director, Public Relations (Media Contact).

BAFT Announces Future Leaders Program Class of 2022

BAFT ‘s Future Leaders Program Class of 2022 includes 35 individuals from 22 countries representing a variety of disciplines within transaction banking.

WASHINGTON — BAFT, the leading global financial services association for international transaction banking, announced today its Future Leaders Program class of 2022. Now in its seventh year, the program recognizes upcoming talent in the global transaction banking industry.

Nominated by their respective institutions, the class of 2022 includes 35 individuals from 22 countries across six continents representing a variety of disciplines within transaction banking. There are three member institutions participating for the first time and three new countries, Djibouti, Finland and Uganda represented in the class of 2022.

This year’s group will be divided into five project teams to address current industry issues including commercializing data, CBDCs, sustainability, digitizing trade finance, and ISO 20022.

The class of 2022 will start their program virtually in January and will conclude at BAFT’s Global Annual Meeting in May. Several future leader council members will support the current class as mentors, joining BAFT board members who will continue to serve as project sponsors.

“We’re excited to welcome another diverse class of Future Leaders into the program,” said Tod Burwell, President & CEO, BAFT. “Over the past several years, it’s been encouraging to see the growth of our Future Leaders Program, which now boasts 180 alumni from every continent. We’ve also seen the growth of alumni members into more senior leadership roles in transaction banking, leaving no doubt that the program is fulfilling its mission.”

BAFT congratulates the following individuals who were selected to this year’s program:

  • Aluwani Thenga, Rand Merchant Bank
  • Attia Salim, ING Bank
  • Raphaël Scemama, Societe Generale
  • Devon Falvey, Citibank
  • Khaled Berto, African Export-Import Bank
  • Romain d’Apolito, UniCredit
  • Tomas Zaleckas, SEB
  • Dejna Zunic, Royal Bank of Canada (RBC)
  • Ahmad Hamza Hashmi, International Islamic Trade Finance Corporation
  • David Willacy, StoneX Group
  • Roselyn Najjuma, Standard Chartered Bank
  • Tuomas Autero, Nordea Bank
  • Farid Al-Masri, Arab Bank
  • Nadine Ghandour, BNP Paribas
  • Akshat Jain, ANZ Banking Group
  • Brandon Wells, Goldman Sachs
  • Cyril Finan, Deutsche Bank
  • Martin Cortazar Mueller, UBS
  • Valentina Polimeno, Intesa Sanpaolo
  • William Murray, Fulton Bank
  • Kishore Kotian, Barclays Bank
  • Mohit Mehtaji, HSBC Bank
  • Jon Boran, Lloyds Bank
  • Ayah Al-Hneiti, The Housing Bank for Trade and Finance
  • Farid Samadov, Kapital Bank
  • Himath Kithsiri, Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank
  • Ricardo Pacheco, City National Bank
  • Viktoria Rudoj, Commerzbank
  • Leos Hruz, BBVA
  • Alejandra Basañez Coppola, Banco Mercantil del Norte (Banorte)
  • Katherine (Katie) Belchere, PNC Bank
  • Marie Mohmand, Swedbank
  • Min Jeong Chae, Bank of Montreal (BMO)
  • Anum Chaudhary, Bank of America
  • Elmi Gabobe, CAC International Bank

BAFT Media Contact:
Blair Bernstein
Director, Public Relations
[email protected]
+ 1 (202) 663-5468