BAFT News and Press Releases

Please direct all media inquiries to , Director, Public Relations (Media Contact).

BAFT Reelects Arab Bank’s Maram Al-Jazireh to Lead Board of Directors

BAFT would like to congratulate its officers on their reelection to the 2022-2023 association year and also welcome new board directors from ABSA, Barclays, BLOM Bank, BMO, DBS Bank, Deutsche Bank, and Scotiabank.

WASHINGTON — BAFT, the leading global financial services association for international transaction banking, has announced that Maram Al-Jazireh of Arab Bank will serve as the Chair of its Board of Directors for the 2022-2023 association year.  

Al-Jazireh is the Senior Vice President & Global Head of Financial Institutions at Arab Bank, as well as a member of its Financial Institutions Credit Committee.

“It is an honor to be reelected as the BAFT board chair,” said Al-Jazireh.  “I look forward to another year working alongside my fellow officers and board members. We share an optimistic outlook for the association and remain committed to promoting transaction banking’s value to the financial services industry and its positive impact on global economies.”

Prior to joining Arab Bank in 2001, Al-Jazireh worked for financial institutions in Amman and Dubai and has served as Co-Chair of the BAFT MENA Council for the past two years. She is a member of the Governance Committee for a USAID funded MENA investment initiative in Jordan, a fellow of the Middle East Leadership Initiative (a member of the Aspen Global Leadership Network) and founder of Mid The Art Reach Project. Al-Jazireh grew up in Kuwait and graduated from Oklahoma State University with a major in accounting.

BAFT board officers include:

  • Vice Chair: Suresh Subramanian, BNP Paribas
  • Secretary / Treasurer: Amy Sahm, Fulton Bank

Other directors include:

  • Michelle Knowles, ABSA
  • Tod Burwell (CEO), BAFT
  • Paul Taylor, Bank of America
  • Maurice Iskandar, Banque Libano-Française
  • Sabry Salman, Barclays
  • Rana Beydoun, BLOM Bank
  • Karin Walchshöfer, BMO (Bank of Montreal)
  • Sriram MuthuKrishnan, DBS Bank
  • Miriam Ratkovicova, Deloitte
  • Russell Brown, Deutsche Bank
  • Robert Mancini, Finastra
  • Aaron Zynczak, First Citizens Bank
  • Nick Smit, ING
  • Robert Hostler, JPMorgan Chase
  • Andreas Meletiou, Mashreq Bank
  • Steven Lotito, MUFG
  • Patrik Havander, Nordea
  • Dyanne Carenza, Scotiabank
  • Kevin Holmes, Standard Bank
  • George Lee, Standard Chartered Bank
  • Tarik Muzaffar, TD Bank
  • Mark Garfield, Zions Bancorporation

BAFT Media Contact:
Blair Bernstein
Director, Public Relations
[email protected]
+1 (202) 663-5468

Follow Us: @BAFT