BAFT News and Press Releases

Please direct all media inquiries to , Director, Public Relations (Media Contact).

BAFT Reelects BNP Paribas’ Suresh Subramanian to Lead Board of Directors

WASHINGTON — BAFT, the leading global financial services association for international transaction banking, has announced that Suresh Subramanian of BNP Paribas will serve a second term as the chair of its board of directors for the 2024-2025 association year. 

Subramanian is managing director and head of transaction banking for the Americas at BNP Paribas. Based in New York, Subramanian is responsible for business strategy, product management and sales across North and South America.

“It continues to be an honor to serve as chair of the board to support the important initiatives put forth by the members of BAFT.   I am proud of the work done by the Board this past year and hope to build on the momentum that has been created by my fellow officers and board members.”

Subramanian has held several roles throughout his 30-year tenure with BNP Paribas including lead positions in New York, Paris and India for transaction and corporate banking. He also serves on several boards and committees within the bank, including as a member of the Leadership Committee for CIB Americas, a member of the Global Strategic Board for Transaction Banking and Correspondent Banking, a member of the Asset and Liability Committee for CIB Americas, and the Executive Champion for the bank’s Asian Business Networking Group.

Also re-elected to serve on the BAFT board as officers were :

  • Vice Chair: Nick Smit, ING
  • Secretary / Treasurer: Michelle Knowles, ABSA

Other directors include:

  • Maram Al-Jazireh, Arab Bank
  • Eddy Almonte, Bank of America
  • Rana Beydoun, Commercial Bank of Dubai
  • Tod Burwell (CEO), BAFT
  • Dyanne Carenza, Scotiabank
  • Mark Doctoroff, MUFG
  • Derryn Faure, Investec
  • Brian Gordon, Commerce Bank
  • Patrick Havander, Visa
  • Rob Hostler, Citi
  • Maurice Iskandar, Banque Libano-Française
  • Ayaz Kamlani, First Abu Dhabi Bank
  • John Kinyangi, Standard Bank Group
  • George Lee, Standard Chartered Bank
  • Vanessa Lin, BNY Mellon
  • Jean-Francois Mazure, Société Générale
  • Sriram Muthukrishnan, DBS Bank
  • Julie Patterson, National Bank of Australia
  • Amy Sahm, Fulton Bank
  • Sabry Salman, Barclays
  • Dean Sposito, Deutsche Bank
  • Peter Zotos, JPMorgan Chase

About BAFT

BAFT, the leading global financial services association for international transaction banking, helps bridge solutions across financial institutions, service providers and the regulatory community that promote sound financial practices enabling innovation, efficiency, and commercial growth. BAFT engages on a wide range of topics affecting transaction banking, including trade finance, payments, and compliance. The association website is

BAFT Media Contact:
Blair Bernstein
Director, Public Relations
[email protected]
+1 (202) 663-5468

Follow Us: @BAFT